Getting started with contributing to Free and Open Source Software (FOSS)

I used to fall into the category of persons who desired to contribute to FOSS but did not know how. A turning point came for me when I stumbled on this video. I recommend it to every beginner like myself.

In the video, the presenter demonstrated the steps to becoming a contributor. I will regard it as the best video ever on the subject for beginners. In it she introduced OpenHatch – a must visit site for beginning FOSS contributors. It contains training missions that will familiarise beginners with the tools used by FOSS contributors among which include: Internet Relay Chat (IRC), Version Control Systems and bug trackers.

This is how I began my journey into the world of FOSS contribution. Anyone can follow suit. In my next post, I will be showing how to choose which FOSS project to be a part of.

Leave a Reply

